A recent invitation over to Paul and Michelle’s begged for some baked goodie to be brought over. But what? It was 5pm and the clock was slowly ticking down to our expected arrival time, in an hour and a half.

Lemon bars are easy but Martin doesn’t like them. I eventually settled on Thumbprint Cookies, for their ease to make and general tastiness. Because when two of your four ingredients are butter and sugar, how can you really go wrong?

These Thumbprint Cookies were easy to make and oso soft and delicious. I pulled them out of the oven as soon as the edges turned a golden brown but worried it wasn’t long enough after I felt how soft the cookie was. However, after they had been gently placed on a cooling rack and left to sit for a few minutes. they came out just right — the perfect ratio of crisp to your bite softness.

I have a special fondness for these cookies because I grew up eating the Pepperidge Farm version with my dad. Though the cookie is softer than the Pepperidge Farm version (thank goodness!), the jam center is just as chewy. As a child, the chewiness was always my favorite part and I would nibble the edges of the cookies until I was left with a jam-covered morsel. Now that the cookie part is trying its best to outshine the center, I love the whole thing. I am going to have to make these for him the next time I am home!

This recipe is so easy, I can rattle it off without even consulting my recipe book.

Thumbprint Cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) butter
1/2 cup sugar
1-3/4 cup AP flour
Jam (any flavor)

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350-degrees.

1/ Cream together butt and sugar until soft and fluffy. Slowly add the flour.
2/ Shape the butter-flour-sugar mixture into balls and place on cookie sheet.
3/ Press imprint of thumb into center of each ball. Fill imprint with jam.
4/ Bake until outer edges turn golden brown (approx. 10 minutes)
5/ Let sit on bake sheet for a minute before moving to cool rack. Let cool completely before serving.
6/ Bask in the delicious awesome-ness.

Servings: 2-1/2 dozen

