On Friday, I felt like pizza but Martin and I have been doing pretty well with the whole “eating-at-home” trend, which I have been liking. We decided to have a “pizza party,” where we invited people over and they brought over an ingredient to put on the pizza. I debated making my own pizza crust for awhile but thought that a party would not be a good time to debut my first attempt at a bread product with yeast.

So we bought some pizza crusts from the grocery store and I baked a cake for dessert. The pizza turned out awesome, both had some wild assortment of mushrooms, pepperoni, onion, shrimp and pineapple. NOM NOM. The shrimp was a surprisingly good addition to the pizza.

The chocolate cake was a rich way to end the night. I first tried this recipe when in college, eating dinner at my friend Deidre’s house one night. What she didn’t warn me was that this recipe had a whopping 6,000 calories per cake, which I found out about after finding a similar recipe on allrecipes.com. However, I think Deidre’s family had tweaked it in a few ways to hopefully bring down that total.

And here goes the recipe for chocolate cake, requested to be the cake served for almost all her older sister’s birthdays. Because of this, I will dub it “Katryne’s Chocolate Cake.”

Katryne’s Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Cake
1 pkg. chocolate cake mix
1 (small) chocolate pudding mix
1 cup applesauce (or vegetable oil)
4 eggs
1/2 cup hot water
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Whipped Cream
1 pint heavy cream
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tbsp. sugar

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350-degrees and prepare bundt pan for baking.

1/ Combine all ingredients and mix everything until smooth. Pour into bundt pan.

2/ Bake until toothpick comes out clean. If the cake starts pulling away from the edges of the pan, it has been overbaked. (The original recipe calls for 1 hr. but I am pretty sure mine baked in about 35 minutes – I just have a tendency to check my cakes frequently).

3/ Let cool.

4/ When ready to serve, combine all ingredients to make the whipped cream and beat on highest setting until soft peaks form. Check for soft peaks by stopping the mixer and pulling thebeaters out of the cream. If some of the whipped cream pulls up with the beaters but then flops over, soft peaks have formed. If the peaks stay up straight, stiff peaks have formed. This stage is still okay. Don’t go any further, however!

Servings: 12

