For those curious, my coconut cream pie turned out VERY well, though the crust was again a disaster. I carefully prepped each step of Brian’s Pie Crust Recipe and even chilled the dough between each step, but when it came time to roll out, the dough would not cooperate. Perhaps an in-person less during my trip in October? 🙂

I followed the recipe that I had posted earlier, but substituted the 3 cups of half-and-half with 2 cups coconut milk and 1 cup half-and-half, mostly because 2 cups coconut milk = 1 can coconut milk. The flour started off a little grainy in the liquid after I’d given the whole concoction a hearty whisking, but quickly thickened once the milk started to boil. I poured it into my just-baked pie crust and left it on the counter to cool before topping with the whipped cream and remaining toasted coconut.

It was well received at the party, even though the pie crust was a little crunchy. I think this might be because 1/ they’ve never had Ferris crust and 2/ the coconut cream does a good job of obliterating what little piece of crust the pie might come with. Here is someone enjoying my pie:

Yum, yum!

