This week is “try to get stuff out of the kitchen that has been there too long” week. There are no leftovers for us to reheat, so I still get to cook – I just have to use something that has been sitting in the kitchen for awhile.

I pulled out some ground beef to make hamburgers with but changed my mind to meatloaf when I spotted the green beans that have been sitting patiently in our crisper. The green beans were still firm to the touch and a nice green color and happy were they to be in our next meal. I didn’t want to just saute them with salt and pepper, so I found this recipe online. I might as well have sauted them with salt and pepper as I forgot the last step and didn’t sprinkle them with cheese. 🙂

As for the meatloaf, I substituted a few things here and there and got a fairly decent recipe. The next time, though, I will more finely chop the onion. I can do that in my NEW FOOD PROCESSOR, which Martin got me for my birthday. Yay food processor!

Alan and Marius dropped by unexpectedly but there was plenty to go around with no leftovers. Perfect!

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

½ cup packed brown sugar
½ cup ketchup
1-½ lb. lean ground beef
¾ cup milk
2 eggs
1-½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. ground black pepper
1 small onion, chopped
¼ teaspoon ground ginger
¾ cup bread crumbs

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350-degrees and lightly grease a 5 x 9 inch loaf pan.

1/ Combine all ingredients but brown sugar and ketchup, mixing well. Press into loaf pan.

2/ Mix together brown sugar and ketchup to make a barbecue sauce. Spread on top of loaf.

3/ Pop in oven and bake until juices run clear.

Servings: 8 slices (or 3 hungry guys + 1 not-so-hungry girl)

Garlic Green Beans

1 tbsp. butter
1 tbsp. olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1 giant bunch fresh green beans
Salt
Pepper
Parmesan cheese

Preparation: Prepare skillet for sautéing.

1/ Thinly slice garlic cloves. Snip off ends of the green beans.

2/ When skillet is hot, drop butter in until melted. Add olive oil.

3/ Add garlic and cook until lightly browned, stirring frequently.

4/ Add green beans and cook until tender, about 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

5/ Remove from heat and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Servings: 4 small-ish servings

