Tonight for dinner, I made Michelle’s salmon recipe that I’d talked about earlier. I didn’t have mayonnaise on hand so I thought I’d try my hand at making it. I went at it and the result created a great dinner. The mayonnaise hardened up during the cooking and tasted like a creamy cheese.

I wouldn’t say my mayonnaise could stand on its own though. It was sort of stiff. I read a lot of instructions that kept repeating the importance of not adding the oil too fast to prevent ruining the emulsion process. I’m not sure how that went. I ended up with a slightly stiff mayonnaise and I’m not sure how I feel about that. I also ended up adding a little less than 1/2 cup, when most recipes called for anywhere from 1/2 to 1-1/2 cups. But I would slowly add some and the recipe would clump up before smoothing out again. And my arm was getting tired of holding the beaters. So I called it a day. It was just the right amount for the salmon, though, so I was okay with that. And it tasted amazing.

I rounded it out with skillet-fried potatoes tossed with a pepper salsa. The pepper salsa was nice except I pulsed the food processor a mite too long and it ended up more finely diced than I wanted.

I’ll put up recipes tomorrow.

EDIT: I will wait on my mayonnaise recipe, actually, because while talking to Amy, she said food processor was the only way to go. So. I will try that out before posting. Thanks guys!

