After the hustle and bustle of the weekend, all I wanted to do yesterday was curl up around the apartment and be lazy. So that’s what I did. It was a lot of surfing the Internet, watching some television, bothering Martin and drinking hot tea to get warm fast.

Of course, whenever I drink tea, I like to nibble on something sweet as I go. Usually, I’m fine with some McVities chocolate biscuits (my favorite!), but yesterday, I felt like a good ol’ chocolate chip. So I dug around and found this recipe. I pulled these out of the oven and watched doubtfully as they quickly flattened to as thin as a digestive. But I took one bite – and promptly fell in love. They were thin, but slightly crisp on the outside and still very chewy on the inside. I no longer want thick, fluffy, cake-like cookies. I want these thin, dainty ones with a nice chew on the inside. Most excellent.

If you are in the area, stop by and try one. 🙂 I have a heaping amount to share.

Melanie’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2-½ cups AP flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
⅔ cup white chocolate chips
⅔ cup semisweet chocolate chips
⅔ cup bittersweet or milk chocolate chips

Optional For Nut Lovers:

⅓ cup finely chopped walnuts
⅓ cup finely chopped pecans
⅓ cup finely chopped almonds

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350-degrees and prepare cookie sheets for baking.

1/ Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

2/ Add eggs and vanilla and mix until blended.

3/ Add flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt, mixing until just blended.

4/ Add chocolate chips and, optionally, nuts, mixing until combined.

5/ Drop by rounded teaspoon onto cookie sheets and bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until edges are a dark golden brown.

6/ Let sit on cookie sheets until they have flattened out and cooled down. These cookies will flatten out very quickly (and will be VERY flat) once pulled from the oven but are crispy on the edges and chewy on the inside, even the next day.

Servings: 36 large-ish cookies or 48 normal-ish cookies

