I had a very fresh piece of salmon and some purple potatoes that desperately needed using. What to do, what to do.

The last salmon recipe we made was utterly delicious but I wanted something a little lighter on the palate. I looked up some baked salmon recipes and came across some that basically uses herbs, lemons and olive oil. Perfect. Then I had to think of what to do with my potatoes, besides making (my favorite standby which I ate on Saturday at the potluck) mashed potatoes. I decided to try scalloped potatoes and put my food processor to good use.

Martin and I both thought these recipes were very tasty. I think I was a little too liberal with the lemon (I added an extra squirt for good measure) but other than that, it was delicious. Of course, it could be the salmon. Like Amy has said, after eating Pacific salmon, I don’t think I could ever go back to Atlantic salmon. It is amazing.

As for the potatoes, I tucked some spinach in there in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I don’t know how this works, as it reminded me a little of Jessica Seinfeld’s new cookbook and how she “sneaks” pureed vegetables into her food and how it doesn’t 1/ add any noticeable health benefits and 2/ teaches children that “good for you” food is yucky. Anyway. The potatoes were very tasty either way. I might try a technique I read about next time, where someone whisked sour cream with milk to create a creamy flavor without all the fat of heavy cream. I just happened to have heavy cream on hand, which is why I decided to try it.

Also, our purple potatoes baked up gray by the end, though this might also be because they were so thinly sliced. The food processor is awesome!

Herbed Baked Salmon

2 garlic cloves, sliced
6 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1sp. dried parsley
1 lemon, sliced
2 salmon fillets

Preparation: When ready to cook salmon, preheat oven to 375-degrees.

1/ Place salmon filets in plastic bag. Add all ingredients to the bag and let mix. Make sure to place lemon slices on top of side of filet without the skin.

2/ Let marinate for at least 1 hour in refrigerator. Occasionally, remove salmon from refrigerator and gently rub herbed marinade into salmon.

3/ Place in square baking dish and cover with foil. Bake until easily flakes with fork.

4/ Serve.

Servings: 2

Scalloped Potatoes with Spinach

1 tbsp. butter
3 large potatoes
⅔ pkg. frozen chopped spinach
2 handfuls Cheddar cheese
Salt
Pepper
Garlic salt
1 pint heavy cream

Preparation: Preheat oven to 350-degrees. With butter, lightly grease medium baking dish.

1/ Thinly slice potatoes either by hand or with slicing mechanism in a food processor. Defrost and drain frozen spinach.

2/ Layer potatoes on bottom of baking dish. Top with spinach and then cheese. Season with salt, pepper and garlic salt.

3/ Repeat layering, making sure to finish with a layer of potatoes on top. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic salt.

4/ Pour heavy cream on top.

5/ Cover loosely with foil and bake in preheated oven for half an hour.

6/ Remove foil and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese to give it a nice crisp coating. Bake for another half hour.

Servings: 8

