I haven’t cooked dinner in about a week. Last week, Martin and I were trying to clean out our fridge to get rid of food before we left to visit friends in Seattle for the weekend so no new inspirations. Then, in Seattle, our friends stuffed us full of yummy food, but I was merely a helper in the kitchen, not the chef.

Last night, I wanted something quasi-healthy, to make up for the fact that I gnoshed all weekend on good-but-not-necessarily-good-for-me food. I checked the contents of my fridge and came up with almost-Cobb-salad! I had everything but the blue cheese. I even had bacon, but it was frozen solid and I didn’t feel like dealing with that. Tasty, green …. and served cold. I wanted something warm and comforting to eat. This is where the corn fritters came in.

I won’t include a recipe for the cobb salad, because it was basically: Gather ingredients together. Clean spinach. Boil eggs. Chop chop chop. Arrange. But the corn fritters were damn tasty, with a nice crispy outside and a sweet crunch to the inside, and Martin gobbled them up, so I feel they warrant some mentioning.

Corn Fritters

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 2 – 3 minutes per side

1 cup AP flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
2 tsp. sugar
1 egg
½ cup milk
1 tbsp. olive oil
2 cups whole corn kernels
Olive oil for frying

1/ Combine flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, egg, milk and 1 tbsp. olive oil into medium-sized bowl.

2/ Whisk until well combined. Add corn kernels and mix.

3/ When ready to cook (these should be served piping hot), heat up oil in large skillet. When oil is very hot, drop batter by generous spoonful into oil. If the oil is not hot enough, the fritters will not brown properly. Turn once to brown both sides.

4/ Remove to plate covered in paper towels to drain.

5/ Repeat until all batter is used up.

Servings: 4

