Lately, Martin and I have been eating salmon about once a week. They sell it here at the Farmer’s Market and it is divine. It’s always so tender and juicy and … generally, amazing! I don’t know what it is, but to quote Martin, “this shit is good.”

Last night, I made salmon with puff pastry, combining two of my favorite things in the world. If I could have somehow worked in some chocolate … all the better! It was easy to make the salmon, but I was worried about timing – tearing into the puff pastry to check on the salmon didn’t seem like the most graceful of solutions. And I needed to figure out when to start cooking the vegetables (mashed potatoes and green beans) so that they’d be hot when they eventually made it out the the table.

Well, I am nothing if not lucky because everything pulled together beautifully. I pulled the salmon out of the oven as the crust was turning a crisp golden brown. I let it sit on the counter because the potatoes weren’t finished boiling. By the time we mashed them up and they were consumption-worthy, the salmon had cooled to the perfect temperature. And blanched green beans took no time at all.

The only comments I’ll make about this is perhaps next time, the mustard will face the top – a lot of it got left behind on the cookie sheet. Also, I will roll out the puff pastry to be much thinner than I did. It felt thin at the time but I probably could have gone a little bit more. Though the outside was nicely crisped, the inside still tasted buttery-doughy. I was kind of okay with that, but I don’t think Martin was.

And the salmon on the inside – great! I’ve always disliked salmon because of its dry, crumbly texture. But all the salmon I’ve had recently has been super-duper, all moist and happy on the inside, as if it were saying “I want you to eat and enjoy me! Eat me! Enjoy me! DOOOOO it.” It’s more addictive than crack, I swear.

Salmon Wrapped with Puff Pastry

1 sheet puff pastry
1 fillet salmon
Spicy brown mustard
Salt
Pepper
Lime juice
1 egg

1/ When ready to cook, preheat oven to 350-degrees and lightly grease cookie sheet

2/ Roll out puff pastry until it is 2 – 3 mm thin.

3/ Brush puff pastry generously with mustard, leaving a small border.

4/ Place salmon on top of mustard. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper and squirt with lime juice.

5/ Beat egg and brush it along the outer border of the puff pastry.

6/ Fold top and bottom edge of puff pastry across salmon. Then fold the left and right edges inward, to create a package.

7/ Make small holes in pastry with fork to allow air to escape. Brush with egg and bake until crust is golden brown.

Servings: 4


Before


After

