Tonight, I had no inspirations for what I wanted to make and I didn’t want a traditional source of protein (beef, chicken, etc.) So I flipped around and came upon this recipe. I halved it because I didn’t think that it would do well reheated and I wanted to make sure Martin and I finished all portions. Half of the recipe fit very nicely into three beautiful Emile Henry ramekins, as I don’t have a baking dish smaller than 8″ x 8″ square. I’m starting to wonder if these ramekins are smaller than normal ramekins because I feel like other ramekins are taller or have a larger capacity.

The recipe came together very easily – it was mostly saute saute saute whisk bake. Very simple but oso tasty in its simplicity. I added a small spoonful of chive cream cheese on top, which Martin said really made the dish. It added a nice creamy touch. When the eggs are set, the yolk looks like a 7-minute egg, set on the outside but still relatively moist. Overall, highly recommended. Very hearty despite the small size.

Two hours later, I have incredibly garlicky breath and a happily full stomach.

Baked Eggs with Tomatoes and Spinach

1 tbsp. olive oil
1 clove garlic
2 cup diced tomatoes
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper
2 (8 oz.) bunches spinach, trimmed
8 eggs
4 oz. cream cheese

1/ Preheat oven to 400-degrees and lightly grease 2-qt baking dish.

2/ Finely mince garlic. Separate eggs, keeping yolks whole.

3/ Heat oil in medium skillet over medium-high heat.

4/ Add garlic and cook for 1 minute.

5/ Add tomatoes, salt and pepper and simmer for 3 minutes.

6/ Add spinach and cook until it begins to wilt, 1 minute.

7/ Transfer to a 2-quart baking dish.

8/ Beat egg whites until foamy, about 30 seconds, then pour over spinach mixture.

9/ Carefully place egg yolks on top.

10/ Bake until egg whites are set.

11/ Dollop with cream cheese if desired.

Servings: 4


Garlicky morsels of happiness


Right before being popped into the oven


Finished product

