When I first read about these cookies, I was really excited to try it. Cookies that got a lot of its moistness from yogurt rather than butter? That seemed fairly tame in the calorie-department? That were chewy and soft and chocolatey? Win-win, easily.

The first night I baked these, they looked great until they cooled down and quickly flattened. I checked my baking soda by pouring some vinegar into it but it fizzed appropriately. The thermometer in my oven registered at precisely 350-degrees while baking. I used parchment and cooled down my cookie sheets between batches. Amy suggested chilling the dough before popping them in the oven.

Biting into them, they were soft on the inside, with a chewy exterior, a sort of crispness to the teeth right before getting to the heart of the cookie … not exactly what I was expecting. These go great with milk because the large quantity of cocoa in them makes them very rich. I liked them, but they also made me very thirsty for some reason.

So … I baked them again the second night. This is a relatively easy recipe and makes a small number of cookies, so it was no hard feat. I carefully prepared each part and chilled the batter in the fridge for half an hour, until it was almost hard. And … same result. Flattened cookies.

I’m still a little disappointed but it’s hard to hate these cocoa discs of happiness. I put them in a Tupperware container with a paper towel and the next day, they were soft and moist. I definitely liked them more the next day than fresh out of the oven (which I thought was odd for a cookie). Either way, I’ll probably keep this in my recipe book and keep experimenting, as they’re so easy to make and register low on the “bad for you!” treats scale.

Chewy Cocoa Cookies

1 cup unbleached AP flour
¼ tsp. baking soda
⅛ tsp. salt
4 tbsp. unsalted butter
⅔ cup sugar
⅓ cup light brown sugar
7 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
⅓ cup plain yogurt
1 tsp. vanilla extract
½ cup bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350-degrees and line baking sheets with parchment.

1/ In a small bowl, whisk flour, baking soda and salt together.

2/ Microwave butter until just melted. Add sugar and cocoa powder and stir to blend.

3/ Add yogurt and vanilla and stir to mix thoroughly.

4/ Add dry flour mixture and stir to combine.

5/ Add chocolate chips and stir to incorporate.

6/ Drop by rounded tablespoon onto baking sheets. Bake until tops look crackly and have set.

Servings: 20 cookies


First night results


Second night results

