Rifling through my refrigerator, I noticed tomatoes, peppers, onions … basically, the perfect vegetables for tried and true tasty fajitas! Or I could break my mold and make Amy’s Tortilla Soup.

I first heard of this soup when Amy and Brian came to visit us. They offered to cook dinner one night and were going to make tortilla soup until they found out that I had no food processor.

However, that problem has been solved and I decided to try it. Amy’s recipe called for poblano peppers, but I only had Italian peppers. Still, I was going to forge on!

This was a very easy recipe to make. I didn’t run into any problems, except when I realized I should have put the vegetables in a baking pan rather than on a cookie sheet. Turning the vegetables as I broiled them would have been less harrowing if I hadn’t thought a garlic clove was going to disappear into the deep abyss that is the bottom of our stove.

I dolloped both bowls of soup with sour cream and garnished with avocados. I have to say, that made a great creamy addition. Martin mixed his in to cool off his soup faster but I preferred picking a little up with my spoon before scooping up some soup. Either way, it really hit the spot and Martin absolutely loved it.

After pureeing the vegetables and adding it to the chicken broth, I was a little dubious about its heartiness but after adding the crushed tortilla chips and letting it simmer for a bit, it was just great. Awesome-blossom soup, Amy! Good job soaking up liquid, tortilla chips!

To note, this is not the recipe that Amy gave me but the recipe I used when halving her recipe and compensating for my lack of poblano pepper-ness.

Amy’s Tortilla Soup

1 large tomato
1/2 white onion
1 medium-sized Italian pepper
3 garlic cloves
4 cups chicken broth
2-1/2 cups crushed tortilla chips
Salt
Pepper

Sour cream
Avocado (sliced thinly)

1/ Wash vegetables and preheat oven to broil. When oven is hot, place vegetables in oven and turn constantly. After skin has blistered, remove from oven and peel skin off. Remove stems from vegetables and seeds from peppers if a milder soup is desired. (I did not and even Martin did not comment on its spiciness).

2/ Place vegetables in food processor and puree. Place in saucepan with chicken broth and let boil. After it has reached a boil, lower heat and add tortilla chips, stirring to combine.

3/ Let soup simmer until it has thickened. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4/ Ladle into soup bowls and garnish with sour cream and avocado. Optionally, also garnish with additional crushed tortilla chips, salsa, shredded chicken and etc.

Servings: 4


Tortilla Soup


What happens to good soup when Martins are allowed to add as much sour cream as they want

