I have just found happiness in the form of these cheese grits. It was everything I imagined grits could be, if it could just live up to its full potential. I was so happy that these tasted so good, I was willing to forgive the salmon for not meshing well with its soy-wasabi glaze. I did not like you, soy-wasabi glaze. Please do not disappoint me again.

The mushrooms were a last minute addition, coming from a need to get rid of three lone ridiculously large button mushrooms hanging out in our crisper. I was worried that letting it simmer with the grits would release a weird flavor, but Martin thinks that the mushrooms definitely put one of the finishing touches on this dish. It was a good compliment to the havarti.

The picture makes it look like a big pile of cream of mushroom but don’t let it fool you – TAS-TAY! It is TAS-TAY, I say!

With that said, here is the recipe for the hands-down best grits I have ever had in my entire life. I did the same as I did with the polenta, letting it cool down until it had developed an almost firm texture. I really do like this texture in food, apparently!

Also, to be more fair, the salmon wasn’t bad. I was just so focused on how much I loved the grits that I probably would have hated anything that detracted from its flavor.

Cheesy Mushroom Grits

3 cups water
3/4 cups slow-cooking grits
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup milk
1/2 cup half-and-half (or cream)
3 large button mushrooms
1 hunk havarti (about 1/2 cup worth)
Pepper

1/ Finely chop mushrooms. Cut cheese into 1/2″ cubes.

2/ Boil water in large saucepan. Add grits and salt. When it has thickened, add milk, cream, mushrooms and bring to a boil. Lower heat and let simmer.

3/ Season to taste with salt and pepper. Let thicken to desired texture. For fairly thick, about 20+ minutes.

4/ When ready to serve, stir in cheese until melted.


Awesome cheesy gritty happiness with forgettable salmon

