Here are the questions that were going through my mind as I researched how to make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dinner:

How many different ways are there to make pumpkin pie? Not too many.

Is there much you can really do to tweak pumpkin pie? Not really.

Who likes cold, somewhat gelatinous pie? Not this person here, so I hope my fellow Thanksgivingers like whatever I turn out.

Who has the worst luck with pie crust? OMG, meeeeeeeeeee.

Keeping all of this in mind, here is my pie. I won’t even post the recipe, since it is pretty much like every other recipe out there, except I amped up the spice levels since cinnamon is awesome.


Pumpkin pie lookin’ mighty fine in some Emile Henry pie plate hotness

While I was researching, I read that if I keep my pie in the warm oven, it will prevent separation as the pie will cool slower. I did it with the door closed, though upon later reflection, I was thinking maybe I should have cooled it with the oven door open. I can try that on another pumpkin pie but this one sadly separated anyway. I should have hidden it with whipped cream piping but didn’t. 🙂 But Kjersti, Greg and Martin (who had never eaten pumpkin pie until that point) liked it and that’s all that matters.

Next year, I might go a different pumpkin-y route, like the pumpkin parfaits that seem uber-popular in all the food blogs this season. I might even try making that in the next few days anyway, just because all the pictures look mighty tasty!

I also made roasted sweet potatoes, steamed broccoli and Parker House yeast rolls (from the same recipe I used previously). This time, I let the dough rise to its little heart’s content and I noticed an immediate difference in this batch and the last batch I made. The dough was soft and very porous. It also deflated upon touch. And it made super soft, buttery rolls. Success!

Speaking of happy cinnamon awesomeness, do you know who supposedly has another book coming out? Jessica Seinfeld, of Deceptively Delicious fame. I heard that this one is called The Joy of Cooking with Cinnamon and is basically The Joy of Cooking recipes … with cinnamon added to all of them. I guess you can’t blame her – cinnamon is pretty tasty.

And speaking of tasty cinnamon some more, someone at a party once told me that the cinnamon we eat in the US isn’t actually cinnamon but some very similar spice. Can anyone confirm / deny?

