As Amy knows, I love fried chicken but hate frying things. The mess, the possibility of being burned … it just doesn’t appeal to me at all. So when Brian made this oven-fried chicken that tasted just as good as fried chicken, I was sold. It was tasty, crispy like fried chicken and didn’t require frying! It was win-win-win, all around. I almost feel like throwing in a few more ‘wins’ in there because of how tasty I thought this was.

Originally, I made it with mashed potatoes and green beans. Then we had two legs leftover and lots of mashed potatoes. A couple of days later, I threw all of this into the oven, along with a broccoli crumb casserole I made from Thanksgiving dinner’s leftover steamed broccoli. Overall, tasty and very comfort food-y. I like it, I like it!

I’ll post the broccoli crumb casserole recipe tomorrow. For now, here’s the recipe Brian and Amy gave me for Oven-Fried chicken, but I tweaked it a little. Perfect with mashed potatoes that have seen lots of sour cream and butter.

Oven Fried Chicken

1/4 cup butter
1/2 tsp. dried mustard powder
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup fine bread crumbs
1/2 cup Parmesan
10 chicken legs

1- Preheat oven to 400-degrees. Melt butter.

2- In shallow bowl, mix mustard powder, garlic powder, black pepper, salt, bread crumbs and Parmesan.

3- Dredge chicken legs in butter and coat with bread crumb mixture. Place in lightly greased baking dish.

4- Bake for 30 minutes or until skin is crip and golden brown.

Servings: 4


One damn tasty leftover dinner

