I’d fallen so hard in love with my new chocolate chip cookie recipe, my other drop cookies fell by the wayside. That’s why, when Martin asked for my white chocolate orange cookies, I didn’t have the heart to say no.

I’d almost say these were my signature cookies. Not that I made up the recipe, but more these were always the cookies I’d make if I wanted cookies. They have a higher butter-to-sugar ratio. I don’t know what this does, precisely, but these cookies are very buttery and soft. I think the original recipe called for smaller amounts of orange flavor but I always wanted it to pack a punch so I kept amping it up. I think currently, I am quite content with the ratios here. I put a little more than 1 tbsp. of dried orange zest in and noticed that the zest came out as almost hard-chewy, so I think I might keep it at an even 1 tbsp. next time.

Also, each time, the dough-to-chips ratio change, mostly because I shake a bag of white chocolate chips a few times until I think a good number has been added. I think this usually amounts to about half the bag, but I estimate around 2 cups. And I’m very careful to make sure that they’re baked until they have just acquired golden-brown edges.

Other than those notes, this is a great cookie recipe. People always come up to me, saying that they loved them. I think it might have to do with the expectations – people are expecting a regular cookie and instead its packed with a citrus-y bang. Either way, I love their compliments and I love these cookies. 🙂

White Chocolate Orange Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
¾ cup brown sugar
½ cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp. orange zest
1 tbsp. orange extract
2-¼ cups AP flour
¾ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
2 cups white chocolate chips

1- Preheat oven to 350-degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2- Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.

3- Add egg, orange zest and orange extract while beating.

4- Sift flour, baking soda and salt together. Slowly add while beating.

5- Add white chocolate chips and mix.

6- Drop onto cookie sheets by rounded teaspoon.

7- Bake. Remove from oven and let cool before eating.

Servings: 36 cookies


Results a la scoop


The cookie scoop: it does good work.

