Most of the time, my recipes come from a desire to use up something that has been sitting in my fridge for what I feel has been too long. This is another one of those cases. Martin and I were about to head out to a holiday party and needed something light to tide us over. I had a cucumber in the crisper. My solution? Cucumber sandwiches.

I found some recipes online and, again, sort of mashed them together. I think they came out very sweet, mostly because I used Miracle Whip rather than mayonnaise. Also, a lot of recipes called for dry Italian dressing and I just made my own again using the recipe I’ve posted earlier. Also, I used the bread on hand (a sweet wheat) which was tasty but didn’t have the unhealthy softness of white bread. Overall, a pretty good small snack before we headed out to the party, but I’m not sure I’d make it again.

Cucumber Sandwiches

1/2 pkg. cream cheese
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/2 pkt. dry Italian dressing mix
Slices of bread
1 medium cucumber, sliced thinly
1 pinch dill weed

1- Mix together cream cheese, mayonnaise and dressing mix.

2- Spread thinly on two slices of bread. Sandwich with cucumber and a sprinkle of the dill. Cut into small pieces.

Servings: A lot


Feels like pink lady tea time, doesn’t it?

