Oranges is such a funny word. Orange, orange, orange. O-range. But I like it. Does anyone remember that comic strip, Rhymes With Orange? Always good for a chuckle.

I decided to see if I could make these after our Thanksgiving party and they are very easy and time-consuming in the way bread is – you just have to be patient and let it sit. Also, after my second batch, I think I realize that you also have to make sure the syrup you boil it in is more sugar and less water. Some recipes say to boil until the orange peels are translucent, others say to boil until all the sugar has dissolved. My personal formula was boil until you think its done and then boil it some more. Worked like a charm!

I dipped the first batch in chocolate without coating in sugar and Martin and I both liked it more that way, though that is a matter of personal preference, most likely. The first batch, which had some brown sugar tossed in (because I ran out of white sugar) had a great, deep flavor but did not hit the bright, citrus-y notes of the second batch, which was all granulated sugar. So it just depends on your preference, I suppose. Both batches made everything VERY sticky, I will say that! Every time I thought I was finished cleaning, I’d find another sticky spot stuck in a random place.

Everyone who I’ve given these to / tried them have thought they were very tasty. So overall, I will call this a success!

Candied Orange Peels

Orange peels
3 cups sugar
1 cup water

1 cup sugar
8 oz. chocolate

1- Remove pulp from oranges and slice peel into thin slices.

2- Place peels in a large saucepan and cover with cold water. Heat on high until water comes to a boil. Pour off the water. Repeat twice more. This step is to take the bitterness out of the pith. But if you want to skip this step, you can just peel the pith off until there is mostly just peel. One downside is that your orange slice will not be as hearty.

3- Combine sugar and water in saucepan and bring to boil over high heat until temperature reaches 230-degrees.

4- Add peel and reduce heat to simmer. Simmer until peels are translucent (30+ minutes).

5- Remove peels from syrup and roll in sugar if desired and set on rack to dry for several hours.

6- Once the peel is dry, dip in tempered dark chocolate. Shake of excess and place on foil, wax paper or baking sheet to dry.

7- Store in Tupperware or, if not chocolate covered, in sugar. Refrigerate if covered in chocolate.

Servings: Approximately 10 – 14 slices per large orange


Boil, my pretties!


Drying into a less-sticky mess


Chocolate-dipped. This is the second batch – notice the slightly brighter color.

