I’ve been meaning to post but always get sidetracked. So I have a lot in my Flickr queue to keep me busy but I thought I’d post this recipe for the lasagna I made for dinner the other night, partly because there is no accompanying picture and I don’t want to forget about it and partly because it was pretty tasty.

The first time I followed this recipe, I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and added salt where it asked for. I felt the whole result was very very salty and I did not enjoy it, which I felt sad about on two levels: 1/ I love lasagna and 2/ Lasagna has to be made in such big quantities that you almost have to have a special reason to make it, otherwise you and your boyfriend will be eating nothing but for the next 2 weeks.

Since our flight to NC was coming up quite rapidly, I was trying to get rid of all the things in our house that will expire while we were gone, one of them being a very big sized tub of cottage cheese. Perfect for this recipe! I tweaked it here and there to accommodate what I had in my refrigerator – for example, using all the cottage cheese rather than 3 cups and egg substitute (leftover from the cookie dough truffles) rather than eggs. Overall, I think it came out pretty well – soft, pillowy noodles and lots of hearty meat and gooey cheese. The recipe below is how I made it, though I took out 1 tsp. of salt in both meat and cheese mixture in addition to the other changes I mentioned earlier.

When I dumped the can of whole tomatoes into the skillet, I was a little doubtful – the sauce was very runny and the tomatoes were giant chunks. But I broke them up with my spoon and the tomato paste thickened up that sauce very nicely. It will spray little tiny tomato sauce dots everywhere, so be warned! And the original recipe (cottage cheese and NOT ricotta!) was great and definitely not salty at all. For those who don’t like cottage cheese – if I hadn’t put it in there myself, I wouldn’t have even known. It tasted great but was very much on the meaty side – I almost wished I’d put in another layer of noodles (the original recipe calls for just two layers). I love lasagna and I loved this recipe.

This makes a lot of food, which was perfect, as I had invited some people over to help us consume it. The six of us consumed all but a healthy single portion and everyone went back for seconds. Success!

Lasagna
courtesy of thepioneerwoman.com

1 lb. ground turkey
1-¼ lb. hot breakfast sausage
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp. dried parsley flakes
2 tbsp. dried basil
2 cans (14.5 oz.) whole tomatoes
2 cans (6 oz.) tomato paste

8 lasagna noodles

3 cups cottage cheese
½ cup egg substitute
½ cup Parmesan cheese
2 tbsp. dried parsley flakes

1 lb. shredded mozzarella
Parmesan cheese

1- Preheat oven to 350-degrees and lightly grease lasagna pan.

2- In a large skillet, combine garlic and beef and cook until meat has browned. Drain half the fat and add the next six ingredients. Simmer, uncovered, for 45 minutes, mixing occasionally with spoon.

3- Combine noodles, ½ tsp. salt and 1 tbsp. olive oil in pot of water. Boil until noodles are al dente and drain. Immediately lay out on flat surface for easier handling later.

4- Combine cottage cheese, eggs, Parmesan cheese, salt and parsley in bowl.

5- To layer: Place 4 noodles, overlapping, in bottom of baking dish. Top with half the cheese, half the mozarella and half the meat. Repeat, ending with meat. Sprinkle generously with Parmesan.

6- Bake until it is hot and bubbly. Let stand 15 – 20 minutes before cutting.

Servings: 12

