Usually, I post chronologically but the next recipe to post is Avocado Shrimp Salad. While I thought this was lovely and yummy and all that jazz, I am pretty sure everyone knows the basics of dicing up ingredients, mixing them all together and then chilling them. But perhaps if I’m slow to upload the new shots, I’ll take the time to write something more in-depth.

Instead, I will talk about the utterly fabulous chicken penne in a tomato cream sauce that we made. It is fabulous. I forgot to check serving size and, as much, made a BOAT LOAD of pasta that lasted Martin and I for days. But (rare for me in leftovers), I wasn’t complaining.

The first thing you might notice about the picture is that there seems to be a haze in front of it. That’s steam. Also, it will appear in several other photos, as I am too impatient to eat to wait any longer than necessary. I am lucky I managed to stifle my hunger long enough to snap the shot!

A second thing, which I will point out rather than hope you can read my mind, is how textural the pasta is. I liked that it wasn’t just some soupy cream sauce with a few pieces of chicken thrown in. The onions and chicken came together with the penne to make a great dish. I had accidentally bought “small” penne apparently but I was actually glad that I did. As weird as it is to say that I hate a pasta shape, I actually thought I hated penne because of its weird tubular tube-ness. But these small penne were great – all easily scoopable with a fork and little prongs of pasta holding lots of tomato-y goodness.

One thing I wish, however, was that I’d had a cup of white wine to add instead of the chicken broth that I did add. I feel that that would have packed a nice extra zing, though it was still yummy all on its own.

Martin absolutely loved this dish, and I don’t blame him. I put in a cup of heavy cream. A CUP! With that much fat, who could possibly hold out against it?

No one human, that’s who. And with that said, here is the recipe. It is SUPER!

Chicken Penne in a Tomato Cream Sauce

4 – 5 boned skinned chicken thighs
1 lb. penne or other short pasta
1 tbsp. butter
2 tbsp. olive oil, separated
Onion
2 cloves garlic
1 cup white wine (or low-sodium chicken broth)
1 can (8oz.) tomato sauce
1 cup heavy cream
Parsley
Basil
Salt
Pepper

1- Finely dice onions. If using fresh herbs, finely dice these as well. Mince garlic. Bring pot of water to boil, in preparation for pasta later.

2- Heat 1 tbsp. butter in skillet until bubbly. Add chicken and cook, turning occasionally, until cooked throughout. Remove to plate and set aside.

3- Add pasta to water and let cook until al dente.

4- Lower heat of skillet. Add onions and garlic to skillet and cook until onions are golden and translucent.

5- While onions are cooking, chop chicken into cubes. Set aside.

6- Add white wine or chicken broth to onions. Let bubble for a few minutes.

7- Add tomato sauce and stir well. Add heavy cream and stir until well combined. Turn heat to low and let simmer.

8- Add basil, parsley, salt and pepper to taste. Chop more basil if desired

9- Add pasta a few scoopfuls at a time, until desired consistency is reached. Re-taste and add more seasonings if desired. Serve hot!

Servings: 2 people over the course of 4 days


Mmmm, so good.

