Today is the day for posts with no pictures. I made a lot of different things last night, one of them being yogurt!

Some of you may or may not remember my first attempt at homemade yogurt, where I fell asleep and asked Martin to pour the milk into the yogurt container. He very nicely did, except he put it in the actual yogurt warmer, not the container that goes into the yogurt warmer. When I woke up the next morning, the results were interesting, to say the least.

This time, however, I had a handy dandy food thermometer and powdered milk. And this time, it went off without a hitch! The yogurt is thick and creamy and Martin, who hates plain yogurt, pronounced it a success. He then tempered it by saying he would fiddle around with flavorings, but either way, it’s nice to know we have mastered one of our favorite foods. If only you knew the joy I felt when I opened up the quart container and stared down into a smooth batch of yogurt, you would realize … I am a big DORK!

Either way, here’s the recipe I used, so I’ll know where to find it.

Basic Yogurt

4 cups milk
3 tbsp + 1 tsp. dried non-instant milk
1/2 cup yogurt with live active cultures

1- Pour milk into saucepan and scald until food thermometer registers 180- to 200-degrees F.

2- When milk has reached temperature, take off heat and stir in dry milk. Let cool down to 105- to 110-degrees F.

3- Plug in yogurt maker to pre-warm.

4- When milk has cooled, add yogurt and gently mix to combine. Pour mixture into yogurt container and place in yogurt warmer.

5- Let sit in yogurt maker for 3 hours. If tarter yogurt is desired, let sit longer, up to a maximum of 8 hours.

6- Remove from yogurt maker and cover. Refrigerate for minimum 2 hours before serving.

Servings: 1 quart

Note: If you don’t have a yogurt maker, you can achieve the same results by keeping the yogurt at a steady 110-degrees F, either in an oven or some other warming aparatus.

