As many of you may remember, I was the happy recipient of a new cookbook at Christmas, from the chef of the famed Charleston restaurant, Magnolias. I had such a great experience there in 2006 (no longer last year!) when we were in town for Tommy and Penney’s wedding and regarded this book with excitement.

I decided to start with the simplest recipe and make their biscuits, which had 3 ingredients: flour, butter and heavy cream. I am not joking about this.

I was so excited about the idea of fluffy biscuits a la Bojangles but without the pesky cutting of butter. The recipe promised 24 1″ biscuits, which confused me, as I halved the recipe, rolled it out to perhaps 1/4″ and got 5. Granted, they were bigger than 1″ square, but still. Who eats 1″ square biscuits? Blasphemers, that’s who.

I popped them in the oven, popped them back out when they were golden brown and looked on in disappointment at biscuits that rose hardly at all and that were crisp but flavorless. Perhaps this is because I did not brush butter on top – but they looked so sad on the baking sheet I felt they weren’t worthy of putting on a good coat of butter.

Later, when trying to describe them to Amy, I fell short in trying to explain how flat and … weird these biscuits were. So I looked on Flickr for a picture.To demonstrate their flatness, rather than ideal-buttermilk-biscuit-buttery-fluffiness, here is a somewhat good representation.

I can’t write these off biscuits completely, however, because I didn’t quite follow the instructions. I made them the previous night, to go along with the steak I was cooking, but forgot to roll them out for dinner. I stuck them in the refrigerator and tried to salvage them the next day to go along with our Meatball Soup. In the process, I re-rolled them. Perhaps this affected the texture, though we may never know until I try again.

ONE LAST CHANCE is all you get, Magnolias biscuits.

Magnolias Biscuits

2-1/4 cups self-rising flour
1-1/2 cups heavy cream
Butter for brushing later

1- Preheat oven to 400-degrees.

2- Mix flour and heavy cream gently until it comes together as a dough.

3- Pour out onto lightly floured surface. Sprinkle surface with flour and roll flat.

4- Cut into biscuit-shapes.

5- Bake in oven until golden brown.

Servings: It claims 24 1″ biscuits.

Sorry folks, no picture today.

