Sometimes, when I read blogs, I get annoyed that they don’t include a recipe with the yummy foods they post about. But now I can definitely see why it sometimes get skipped – when the instructions are easy-peasy, what’s the point of including one?

Take for example, a recent meal of mine – meatball soup. The best way to describe it is … throw stuff into pot and let cook. Add pasta and let cook until finished. Serve.

I thought that this recipe was actually pretty good, except I didn’t take the advice of a few reviewers and I added more than a cup of short pasta. I should have listened, as the pasta promptly absorbed any and all liquid and turned it more into pasta dish rather than soup.

Either way, it was pretty tasty, especially the next day. I did a mix of kielbasa and meatballs and it all came out pretty tasty. The original recipe was basically tomato sauce + pasta + meatballs, but I threw in whatever vegetables I happened to have in my crisper that I thought would compliment the dish. This happens a lot in meals, as I try to up the nutritional ante. I wonder if it works or if I’m following some hybrid bastardization of what Jessica Seinfeld has been preaching.

Meatball Soup

2 quarts water
20 small meatballs
1 cup chopped kielbasa
2 (8 ounce) cans tomato sauce
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
Salt
Pepper
2 carrots, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 can (8 oz.) corn
1 cup elbow macaroni

1- Bring water to a boil in a large saucepan.

2- Chop carrots into rounds and mince garlic.

3- Add meatballs, kielbasa, tomato sauce, oregano, basil, thyme, salt and pepper to taste, garlic, carrots and corn. Let simmer until cooked throughout.

4- Add macaroni and cook until pasta is done. Do not add more than 1 cup pasta or else too much liquid will be absorbed.

5- Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

Servings: 6 – 8


Soup that oso quickly became pasta, you were yum!

