As one Miss Amy knows, I am not a fan of frying things in my kitchen. I think it has to do with the clean-up – the oil splatters everywhere and is just a pain to wipe up. She has given me many a-suggestion that involves dipping things into lots of oil on the stove and I have been unenthused.

I made an exception for these, which I thought would go well with the salmon and the mayonnaise I made. Mayonnaise, I discovered at a cute cafe in Seattle with Amy and Brian, is a great dip for french fries.

I searched around for awhile and found a recipe that battered the fries to produce a crispy outside. Many reviewers of the recipe noted that frying potatoes without the benefit of the batter produced fries that were somewhat soggy, while the battered fries were perfectly crisp and stayed that way for quite some time. I was immediately curious to try this one out.

I think next time, I will cut my fries to be thinner. I was going for a simple steak-fry like cut, but I think I prefer thinner cuts. Also, I added too much garlic to my mayonnaise so I ended up preferring ketchup over the mayonnaise. Coated in a simple flour batter, these fries were hot on the inside and awesomely crisp on the outside. I only made one large russet potato worth, which was just right for me and Martin. I felt like I could keep eating more, actually, but it’s probably good we had a physical limit, otherwise I would have just kept going and my stomach would have hated me later. 🙂 These are addictive!

I think these were better than any I could get at a fast food or normal-food restaurant, because they were hot, hot, hot and oso crispy.

As for the shallow saucepan I fried them in – it did indeed splatter oil everywhere. I’m still soaking / scrubbing trying to get off all the oil. But I think these fries may have been worth it – and that’s saying a lot from me! Maybe I’ll start in on some of Amy’s recipes or even … homemade potato chips?

Homemade French Fries

1 russet potato
½ cups AP flour
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 tsp. onion salt
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground black pepper
Water as needed
Vegetable oil for frying

1- Slice potatoes into French fries and place into cold water to prevent browning during preparation.

2- Mix flour, salts and peppers together. Slowly add water until mixture drips easily from spoon.

3- When ready to fry, heat oil in deep-sided skillet or pan until extremely hot. To check, drop a couple of drops of batter in to see if it starts bubbling. If not, continue to heat.

4- Dip potatoes into batter and place one by one into hot oil. Do not let touch each other, they’ll stick together.

5- Fry until dark golden brown.

6- Remove and set on drained paper towels. Serve hot.

Servings: 2


So brown and tasty, makes my belly go “Yay!sty.”

