I found this recipe online and was immediately sold on its description, which had words like ooey, gooey, chewy and brownie-like. As anyone knows, I am a HUGE fan of brownies.

The recipe itself came from a recipe book called Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Conner. I ask you, how can you fail with a name like that?!

You can if you do what I did and fail to add in one cup of sugar. After I’d mixed up and baked all the results, I eagerly tried one and was disappointed that it wasn’t asgooey and chewy as my beloved brownie. It was, however, a very nice, soft and extra-chocolately chocolate cookie and it had that lovely shiny crust that brownies typically acquire. I would make it again, with hopes that were not so high. And as I was transcribing the recipe, for my “next time,” I realized I’d left out brown sugar. A cup of it to be exact.

I am no scientific baking expert but I was kind of appalled that I’d left out a whole (and very important!) ingredient. Perhaps that is why they weren’t as brownie-like as promised.

I made half the batch one night and half the batch the next night, both under different circumstances. The first night, the batter was slightly chilled and produced cookies that spread more. The second time, the batter was more chilled and the batter did not spread too much. However, too chilled and the batter retained its lumpy texture. It was better to let it defrost a little and allow it to develop a smooth surface (and a pretty brownie sheen!).

Also, the original recipe called for microwaving the chocolate and butter together and immediately mixing. I let mine sit for a few seconds after coming out of the microwave and I think that step is crucial to making sure everything melts after the first heating.

So without further ado:

Triple Chocolate Cookies

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
4 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
¾ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1-¼ cups all purpose flour
12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 oz. unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
1-½ milk chocolate chunks
1-½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1- Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking trays with parchment paper.

2- Combine 12 oz. semisweet chocolate, 1 oz. unsweetened chocolate and butter in microwave safe bowl. Microwave, uncovered, on high for 1 minute. Remove and let sit for a few seconds longer. Stir until chocolate is completely melted andsmooth.
3- In a large mixing bowl, beat together eggs, sugars and vanilla until fluffy.

4- Reduce mixer speed to low and beat in melted chocolate.

5- Add flour, baking powder and salt. Stir until just combined.

6- Stir in chocolate chips.

7- Drop batter onto baking sheets at least 3″ apart to give room to spread. Bake one sheet at a time until cookies are firm and have a glossy, crackled exterior (like a brownie!), approx. 12 – 15 minutes.

8- Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheets.

Servings: 18 – 24 cookies


Wow, that’s a lot of melted chocolate.


Thank you, cookie scoop!


Watching me post this made Martin want cookies again.

