When I decided to make these, I wanted something that would taste just like a Reese’s cup. The cookies I made are indeed very peanut buttery and very soft, but not as chocolatey as I would have liked. Everyone knows the best iteration of Reese’s cups are the mini ones, because they have the ideal chocolate-to-peanut-butter ratio. And if they don’t know, well … trust me, everyone knows.

I didn’t preserve the ratio in these cookies. I used a lot of peanut butter but not a lot of chocolate chips. For the peanut butter, I used White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter by Peanut Butter and Co. I bought some (in bulk) through Amazon and now have four containers of the stuff. It’s tasty, but not as good as their Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter, which is like eating semi-solid Reese’s cups. Mmmm. So good.

I am taking the time to explain this because at the end, when I went to add the chips, I couldn’t decide what kind to add. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to add white, to compliment the peanut butter I used, or dark, to make it like a Reese’s cup. In the end, I compromised both and pleased none. Isn’t that what they say about compromises? They slightly satisfy, but mostly dissatisfy, both. In this case, do not compromise! Pick white or dark, but not both!

So these were more peanut buttery and less chocolatey than I was hoping for, but they stay very soft and are pretty tasty. I just dropped them onto the cookie sheet, rather than making the signature criss-cross. What I am wondering is – who decided peanut butter cookies should be all criss-cross to begin with? What’s wrong with good ol’ rounded dome cookie shapes?

Anyway, here is the recipe. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup peanut butter
1 stick butter, softened
½ cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar
1 egg
3 tbsp. heavy whipping cream or whole milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1-¼ cup AP flour
¾ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
1 cup chocolate chips

1- Preheat oven to 350-degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

2- Beat together peanut butter, butter and sugar until fluffy.

3- Add egg, heavy cream and vanilla, beating until combined.

4- Mix flour, baking powder and salt together. Add to butter mixture and beat until smooth.

5- Add chocolate chips and stir to combine. Drop by rounded teaspoon onto cookie sheet.

6- Bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until cookies just start to turn golden brown at edges. Remove from oven and leave on cookie sheet until cool.

Servings: 24 medium cookies

