I saw these and decided to make them for Arun’s House Warming / Birthday / Disco party. I wanted to try them and see what they were like, without the burden of eating 24 cupcakes. 🙂 A party seems like just the answer!

These are really easy to pull together, especially if you cheated and used a box mix, like me. I’ve tried making cake mixes from scratch before and they always come out dense and heavy. I’d rather just save my time and use a box mix, lazy as that sounds. Actually, wait. I take that back. The only cake mix that I have ever successfully made from scratch is Kyle’s Red Velvet Cake, which I really love and which has always come out very tasty for me – perhaps why I love it? But that’s it. Yellow cake, white cake, brown cake … might as well be tasteless lumps of flour. Who wants cake that tastes like that?

Anyway, I made these and got lazy towards the end. I split up the cookies without making sure there was cream on both sides. Since I used double stuffed, some people had an extra special surprise waiting at the bottom and for others, well – sorry Greg!

You can always substitute your own cake recipe, of course. These were crowd-pleasing and sweet enough on their own that no frosting was needed. Good for me, because I spent so long debating what kind of frosting I wanted that there was eventually no more time and people had to eat them muffin-style.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

30 Oreo cookies
1 pkg. vanilla cake mix
1 cup sour cream
½ cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1- Note: This quick, easy way can be substituted with the Magnolias Vanilla Cupcake recipe. Make vanilla cupcake recipe as-is and add crushed Oreos.

2- Preheat oven to 350-degrees and place liners in muffin tin.

3- Count out 12 Oreos and separate bottoms from top, making sure there is frosting on both sides. Place one wafer, icing side up, in bottom of each muffin tin.

4- Coarsely crush remaining Oreos.

5- Combine remaining ingredients in large bowl and beat until well-mixed.

6- Measure out 1-½ cup of crushed Oreos, using the remaining Oreos for garnish.

7- Spoon batter into muffin tin in ⅓ cup amounts or until muffin tin is approximately ⅔ full.

8- Bake until toothpick comes out with wet crumbs attached. Remove from oven and let cool before serving. Frost as desired.

Servings: 24


Do you want to be a cupcake or a muffin?


Surprise, surprise from the Cupcake Muffin!

