The other day, I decided to make a quiche. I don’t know why, I’ve never made a quiche before. And I am no Ferris when it comes to pie crust. All I knew was, I had fond memories of Alex making us one awhile back and I was going to make one too.

I mostly wanted to use up the bacon that we had in our house, leftover from a failed carbonara attempt (not enough bacon, too many noodles!). Martin has always been distrustful of bacon and, though I am a great lover of bacon, I dislike the mess it makes when frying. So we’ve decided to cut bacon out of our kitchen and this might very well be the last bacon we will ever make in our home. I wish I could say the quiche was a worthy vessel of our LAST BACON EVER but while it was incredibly tasty, there is truly nothing worthy of your last bite of crisped, salty, crunchy bacon.

Since I never made a quiche before, I did a Google search and came up with one from a North Carolina bed and breakfast. Something to tie me back to North Carolina? I was sold, even though I was doubtful about some of the ingredients. It called for Bisquik and no pie crust. The no pie crust was a plus but Bisquik mixed with eggs? I forged on, figuring it couldn’t be too bad, considering I found many variations of the same in other “Apple Bacon Cheddar Quiche” recipes.

I cut up the bacon into 1″ pieces and fried them up. I noticed that there wasn’t quite the sizzling / oil popping out of the pan eager to burn you effect when I did it this way versus in whole strips. Does anyone know the logic behind this?

Then I mixed everything up, poured everything into a pie plate and stuck it in the oven. The result was similar to an ABC sandwich from the Rockford, mixed with super-fluffy scrambled eggs. Overall, it was very tasty but very heavy – Martin and I didn’t get much into it. Also, I used sharp white cheddar, which added an extra edge to it. I think perhaps a meltier cheese next time would be nice. The next time I make this, I might save it for when company comes over – so Martin and I won’t be left with so many leftovers!

Apple Bacon Cheddar Quiche

2 Granny Smith apples
1-½ cups grated cheddar cheese
8 slices bacon, cooked and broken into 1” pieces
4 eggs
1-½ cups half-and-half
1 cup Bisquick
½ cup flour

1- Butter an 8” x 11-½” casserole dish.

2- Cube Granny smith apples and layer into the bottom of the casserole dish.

3- Sprinkle cheese on top.

4- Sprinkle bacon on top.

5- In a large bowl, beat eggs. And milk and beat together.

6- Add Bisquik and flour and beat into a batter.

7- Pour over everything in casserole dish.

8- Bake for 45 minutes or until top is well-browned and quiche is cooked through.

Servings: 6 – 8


Crustless quiche basically looks like a fritatta to me.


I’m puffy and golden, but not cheetos!

