For Easter, Martin and I were going to plan an elaborate Easter-Egg-Scavenger-Hunt on Stanford campus. Unfortunately, we missed the memo that told everyone to go out of town so we were forced to cancel. Instead of a scavenger hunt, we threw an Easter Potluck instead with a few close friends.

The Easter Potluck was great fun. In the spirit of Easter, Martin and I contributed a ham and deviled eggs. I am a huge fan of deviled eggs but have never made then, except for a terrible debacle I call “The Terrible Deviled Egg Debacle.” In fact, I pretty much strike that experience from my cooking experiences and call myself a Deviled Egg-making virgin.

To make this recipe, I turned to my trusty copy of Gourmet. I pretty much love this cookbook. I would like to add another all-purpose cookbook to my library, such as The Joy of Cooking or Cooks Illustrated, but have not been able to make the leap yet. So anyone with a strong preference for one should give me a good recommendation and a strong push to Amazon!

Since I was so new at deviled eggs, I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, with a few small changes. I had looked up many recipes and variations and determined I wanted real, true deviled eggs, which call for a hint of spice. I didn’t want to risk adding too much, however, because of Martin’s sensitive palate. He hates eggs enough as it is and I didn’t want to give him another reason!

Also, I used sour cream in place of mayonnaise, mostly because mayonnaise is not something we keep on hand. Awhile ago, I banned store-bought mayonnaise from our fridge and did not have any eggs to make a homemade version. I liked the lighter taste the sour cream gave the filling. I added sweet relish for a bit of texture and the sprinkling of chili powder, instead of paprika, on top of the eggs was the perfect little zing.

Though I do not want to speak for all my guests, I thought these were very tasty and was a little sad there were not leftovers for me to eat later!

Deviled Eggs

6 large eggs
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
1 tbsp. sweet relish
1/4 tsp. chili powder + extra for garnish

1- Cover eggs with 1-1/2″ cold water and bring water to a rolling boil. Reduce heat and cover, letting cook for 30 seconds. Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for 15 minutes.

2- Prepare an ice bath and transfer eggs to bath. Let stand for 30 minutes and drain.

3- Peel eggs and halve lengthwise. Carefully remove yolks (it is easier to do this if you slightly bend the egg to expose edges and with finger, pop out the yolk). Place yolks in bowl.

4- Mash egg yolk with remaining ingredients. Season with salt and pepper.

5- Fill plastic bag with mixture and cut off tip. Pipe into egg whites.

6- Sprinkle with chili powder and serve immediately. If preparing in advance, store in an air-tight container.

Servings: 12 eggs

Notes: I read a bit on deviled eggs and many people say that older eggs work better than fresh eggs. Also, the night before, it is helpful to put a rubber band around the egg case and turn the eggs on their side, which encourages the yolk to move to the center.


Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about. Oh yeah oh yum.

