I have often seen recipes for lemon curd on Tastespotting. Very often, they are accompanied with glowing praises, like “amazing” and “mouth watering” and “would marry lemon curd and make lemon curd babies, if possible.” Okay, not really that last one but seriously. Everyone seems to love lemon curd.

When I found (heaven of heavens!) meyer lemons being sold at the local farmer’s market, I filled a plastic bag with them and decided I’d make lemon curd too. Too bad I didn’t read the recipe or I would have realized a giant plastic bag is not necessary. However, having a nice stash of them in the fridge has been pretty not bad so I ain’t complainin’ about my sweet sweet meyer lemons.

The recipe was really easy to make. I feel like anyone could really make these, but many recipes online said things like “CAUTION, EXPERIENCED COOKS ONLY.” I thought this was lame. I think it’s to make people think it’s fancier than it really is. To me, it is basically like lemon pudding or the yummy filling that goes between layered cakes.

So there you have it. I served it at my St. Patrick’s dinner as dessert on top of blueberry bread. Nothing too fancy, everything seriously tasty.

Lemon Curd

3 large eggs
1/3 cup FRESH lemon juice
1 tbsp. fresh lemon zest
3/4 cup sugar
4 tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1- In a double broiler (or make your own by simmering water in a saucepan underneath a metal bowl placed on top), whisk eggs, lemon juice and sugar together.

2- Stir constantly to prevent curdling until the mixture is thick like sour cream, approx. 10 minutes.

3- Add butter and whisk mixture until butter is melted. Add lemon zest.

4- Remove from heat to let cool. When it has cooled, cover to prevent a skin from forming.

5- Store in an airtight container and keep in refrigerator when not using for up to 1 week.

Servings: 1-1/2 cups


Wow, this is making me really hungry.

