Right now, all I can think about is the fact that I have carrot cake in our refrigerator. Before yesterday, I didn’t even know I liked carrot cake. But the slice I had today … and the three I had yesterday … are convincing me that I do. It is lucky for my hips that 5 other people helped to consume two-thirds of the cake yesterday because this stuff is good. Blissful good. Makes-me-salivate-as-I-sit-here good.

Don’t believe me?

Check out the looks of sheer satisfaction on my fellow cake-eaters faces:

Okay, so I didn’t really take a picture of everyone partaking of my cake. So you’re going to have to trust me when I say they all really liked it. And, really, would I lie to you?

This cake was full of carrot-y goodness. It had nice hints of spice (though I would like more – maybe I will amp up the cinnamon and add some clove and allspice goodness next time). And, to balance out any good feelings you might be receiving from eating your daily dose of beta-carotene, it has loads of sugar and fat.

It pulls together in a snap – you don’t even have to worry about creaming butter for the batter! As for the cream cheese frosting recipe I used, it called for an easy 4 ingredients: butter, cream cheese, vanilla and powdered sugar. One pound of powdered sugar, to be exact. I don’t have a scale but I checked online and this appeared to be around 3-1/2 cups of sugar. (Yes, I said “Holy crap!” too when I read the recipe). I ran out of powdered sugar at around 1-1/2 cups, but I tried some and thought it tasted pretty sweet as is. My fellow cake eaters agreed and said they couldn’t imagine adding more sugar to the frosting. So there you go. You can add four cups if you want to induce people into a diabetic coma or you can show restraint. Whichever way floats your boat best. 🙂

And as a random side note, the original recipe called for 1 cup of finely chopped pecans to go into the frosting. I didn’t add any, because I didn’t have those on hand. And because I don’t really like nuts in my baked goods. But more because I didn’t have them on hand. So if you have pecans on hand and like them in your baked goods, add away!

Carrot Cake

2 cups sugar (I used scant cup measures with no problem)
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 cups AP flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 cups packed grated carrots

1 stick butter, room temperature
1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, room temperature
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1-  Preheat oven to 350-degrees and lightly grease and flour cake pan.

2-  Combine sugar, vegetable oil and eggs together in a bowl and mix together until smooth.

3- Sift together flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon. Add to sugar mixture and mix until smooth.

4- Add carrots to batter and mix until smooth.

5- Pour into bundt pan and bake, approx. 50 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

6- To make frosting, combine butter and cream cheese and beat until smooth and fluffy.

7- Add vanilla and beat to combine.

8- Add sugar and beat until smooth. Frost cake and serve.

Servings: 12


Oooh, lookin’ good, baby.


Gimme gimme more, gimme more.

