So here are some scallops that I made recently:

I am a very big fan of scallops.  Love them, always have.  Baked, fried, cooked by pirates … there’s really no way I don’t like these things.

Martin, however, is not so big a fan.

But I took advantage of the fact that he graciously eats anything I make and decided to try to make them anyway.

So I researched a bunch of recipes, mashed them all up into one and fried them up one night.  They came out crispy and garlicky and not rubbery at all, perfectly cooked thanks to paranoid vigilance.

Martin?  Still not a fan.  Guess you can’t win them all.

But if your tastes are more like mine than Martin, then perhaps you will like these too. Here’s what you need to make Pasta with Veggies and some Pan-Fried Scallops.

Easy peasy, no?  That’s a lot of ingredients.  One of them is pappardalle pasta, which I have recently discovered and declare my new favorite type of pasta.  I like how it’s wide and thin, much like the noodles my dad uses to cook one of my favorite dishes.  I don’t know what kind of noodles they are, but it is known fact in my family that I hate thin noodles.

True story:  When I was little and we made our trips up to NY, we would always pack up noodles to eat on our journey down.  These noodles were those typical super-thin noodles, in broth, served with vegetables and either sliced barbecue pork or won tons.  I would always eat the toppings and take a couple obligatory bites of the noodles.  Leaving New York meant gross, thin noodles on the way home and I hated them.

Then, one year, my parents switched to wide, thin.  Same broth.  Same toppings.  My serving was demolished.  For the longest time, I thought I hated noodles.  Then I realized … I just hated those noodles.

That was a really long story just to explain why I am predisposed to like pappardalle.

So here we go.  Follow my three easy steps to success:

1.  Buy ingredients and assemble on counter.
2.  ???
3.  Profit!  Err, scallops!

Just kidding.

Here we go, for realz:

Pan-Fried Scallops

4 tbsp. butter, melted
1 lb. sea scallops
½ cup seasoned dry bread crumbs
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. paprika
1 tsp. seafood seasoning (like Old Bay)
½ tsp. dried parsley
3 cloves garlic, minced
¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese

1-  Heat skillet with thin layer of oil.

2-  Combine all the dry ingredients in a shallow pan.

3-  Dip scallops into butter and coat with dry ingredients.

4-  Place on skillet and fry for 3 minutes.  Bottom side of scallops should be nicely brown.  Flip and repeat on other side.

5-  Serve hot.

Servings: 4

As a side note, I used panko crumbs because I thought it would create a better crunch.  Instead, they just decided to fall off the scallops.  So I think I might use finer crumbs next time.

For the pasta, I just boiled the pasta, steamed the broccoli, changed my mind about mushrooms, chiffonaded the basil and tossed everything in a big pot.

