If there’s one thing I love, it’s my Parker House rolls.  Sometimes, I wonder how other food bloggers can write so much.  How is it that they can keep trying the new?  What about returning the beloved tried and true every now and then?  How can we fit in new and exciting things, when I want my darned comfort foods too.

Parker House rolls are pretty much the only bread I make nowadays.  I am so-over my rye bread phase and just haven’t re-caught the bread bug.  Except for rolls, those light, fluffy, oh so delicate puffs.  I was really craving them the other day so I tried to figure out a meal that would pair well with them for when our friend Michelle came over.

I came up with:  shrimp salad!  Martin had insisted on tiny baby shrimps on a recent grocery trip and the package came labelled as “salad shrimp.”  No joke.  I took that as a sign.

I know it’s not much to look at, but the rolls so totally made the salad.  I wish I could say it was my awesome shrimp salad, but it wasn’t.

I think I picked the shrimp salad recipe because it had slashes and umlats decorating the o’s (the recipe’s official name is Shrimp Smorrebrod).  The description was open-faced sandwiches over rye bread – so Swedish sounding!

Well, it turned out to be Danish but Martin liked it anyway.  I made a few substitutions but was overall very happy with the result.   You go, rolls!!  This was a great, light summer meal.

Shrimp Smorrebrod, Melanie Style

1 lb. salad shrimp
1/4 cup chilled heavy cream
1/4 cup sour cream
2 tablespoons horseradish, cream-style
2 firm-ripe California avocados
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 small Italian red pepper, diced
Parker House Rolls
1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
Whatever salad greens you happen to have

1-  Defrost salad shrimp (yes, it’s true, they were frozen but really, can you imagine shelling shrimp this tiny yourself?)

2-  Whisk heavy cream until it holds soft peaks, then whisk in sour cream, horseradish, and salt and pepper to taste.

3-  Halve, pit, and peel avocados, then slice crosswise. Drizzle slices with lemon juice.

4-  Slice rolls.  Arrange shrimp, avocado, and onion over it. Spoon dollops of horseradish sauce on sandwiches.  Be happy as you stuff your face and bask in the summeryness.

Servings:  6

