Or, more technically, the other week.  I took a photo of it but it’s a pretty sad pile of orange-ness so I thought I’d save you guys the pain.  😉

The other week, I bought some sweet potato pasta from the Farmer’s Market.  I didn’t know what to do with it, but I thought I’d try to emphasize fall-vegetable-ness of it and try something new.  I thought it was pumpkin pasta (and still kept thinking that, until the guy I buy pasta from corrected me yesterday when I asked him why he didn’t have any more) so I probably didn’t do a great job of bringing out its flavors.  Instead, I smothered it in pumpkin flavor.

I chose a recipe for Pasta with Pumpkin and Sausage.  Skimming over the recipe, it sounded new and exciting.  But after making it, I realized it was just a basic cream sauce, but with pumpkin for flavoring rather than something typical, like tomato.  It was definitely fall-like, as it tasted a lot like pumpkin pie (the cinnamon and nutmeg helped with that, too).  The sauce was pretty tasty but unfortunately, as I focused on making the sauce, I accidentally overcooked the noodles.  Needless to say, it could have been better.

