Wow, it has been a long time since I last posted!  Embarrassingly long, one would say.  Good thing Martin gave me a digital cooking assistant for Christmas, one that promises to practically write these posts about the food I just put in my mouth for me!  There are several out there, and I am not near my normal computer, so I haven’t had a chance to try one out / pick The One (you know, like forever and ever).  But trust me, when I do, you will know!

I have to admit, I was surprised when he gifted me with this, as it only encourages me EVEN MORE to perch my laptop precariously on our kitchen counter as I go about doing my cooking thang.  But if he’s okay with that, I am even more okay with that!  I am especially excited about how easy it is to do things like upload my favorite recipes and turn them into easy-to-print formats.

Anyway, with all of that Christmas excitement out of the way, I will now throw up a post about a food I made a long time ago and subsequently don’t remember too well:


Check out that hot, hot vegetable action!

To explain, I was not in the mood to cook at all and so planned on using our ready-steady-go supply of Ikea meatballs and (gulp) jarred spaghetti sauce (don’t hate me, gourmands!) to make hum-drum spaghetti and meatballs.  Then I realized … I had no spaghetti sauce.  So I rolled my sleeves up (metaphorically, I think I was wearing short sleeves that day), checked my pantry and found Giada’s Marinara Sauce, which sounded different from any marinara I’d ever tried.  And how.  It was chunky and vegetable-y and non-tomtao-y.  It also had the added benefit of using every vegetable I needed to use up in my crisper.

I thought the sauce was okay, good for when you wanted something a bit different.  Martin really liked the new texture and taste. He also liked that, when I forced him to play the “What’s in your food?” game, he could just look down and identify everything by sight.

I think maybe next time, I would add some tomato sauce, to make it a bit saucier.  This is the only picture I have, but hopefully you can see how it’s less sauce, more vegetables barely held together by a binding agent.

And that, as they say, is that.  I’ve been lazy all day this Christmas Day, so it’s nice to know that I can lay claim to some form of achievement, no matter how minor.  🙂  Happy Holidays, all!

