Awhile back, I was pondering a very important question: to wedding cake or not to wedding cake?  I do like cake, very much.  But I like other desserts a lot more.  Would I miss eating it?  A previous caterer had wow’ed me with the idea of a small pound cake slathered in cream cheese frosting to bite into for those all-important cake-cutting shots.  It would be a light pink in color and have madeleines decorating the side.  I loved it.

But I still couldn’t decide.

So I did what I thought was best: I baked the cake to see how I felt about it.

I was very meticulous about the whole situation, more so than I generally am.  After all, the opportunity to stuff Martin’s face with cake was on the line!!

This is 3 sticks of butter and a bar of cream cheese.  MMMmmm.  Can you smell the fat fumes rising through the computer?

It was all pretty standard:  Dry white ingredients.  Fat. Flavoring.  Mixing it all together.

But here was the part I was really excited about:

Yes, that’s almond extract.  And yes, I have a weird idea of what exciting is.  But I love the smell of almondy things and when I opened this bottle … well … YUM is all I can say.  (After this, I started adding it to everything, but that is another story)

Will you look at that?  It’s all ready to bake.  I can hardly wait for the results!

(Check out all that yellow in the background – yellow pot holders, yellow spoon rest, yellow utensil holder, bananas.  Gee – do I like yellow?)

It’s looking good.  And it smelled amazing while it was baking.  I could barely wait to dig in.  And then I choked on the finale:

How embarrassing.  But I’m happy to share this with you, inner embarrassment aside.

Here is what I learned from the experience:

1/ It is really gross fresh from the oven, all sticky and smushy.  The crumb definitely needs to be cool before eating for maximum enjoyment.
2/   The crust is the best part.  The crunchier, more caramelized, the better.
3/  I am okay with not having a cake to cut at the wedding.  🙂  Also, did you know that southern bakeries apparently only bake pound cake in bundt form?  Shocking, but true.
4/  Knowing how much butter went into made me not want to make the cream cheese frosting, which called for another bar of cream cheese and another stick of butter. 

Southern Pound Cake

1 (8 oz.) bar cream cheese, softened
3 sticks butter, softened 
3 cups granulated sugar
6 eggs, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. almond extract
3 cups cake flour, sifted after measuring
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350-degrees.

1-  Beat cream cheese and butter together until smooth and fluffy, scraping down bowl.  

2-  Add sugar and beat until fluffy.  Scrape down bowl.

3-  Add eggs one at a time, mixing just until each combined.  Add extracts and mix until combined.

4-  Combine cake flour and salt.  Add flour salt mixture and beat until just combined.

5-  Pour into greased and floured bundt pan.  Bake for about 1h20 minutes.

6-  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let sit in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes, then remove from pan and let sit until cool.

Servings:   1 bundt cake (around 12)

