Surabhi and Ziga thoughtfully gave us a waffle maker and a teapot as a wedding gift and they have been serious workhorses in our kitchen.  I don’t think a day goes by where we don’t use the kettle, as I am a tea fiend (and slowly turning Martin into one!).  We may not use the waffle iron as much, but I get just as much enjoyment out of it.

Martin isn’t too much of a waffle fan, so if I make waffles, I’m pretty much making them just for me.  Far and away my favorite recipe is the Light, Crisp Waffle from Fine Cooking, introduced to me by Brian.  He and I both love the same style of waffles and I consider Brian a discerning food individual, especially when something as important as WAFFLES are on the line, so I knew this would be a winner.

As Brian points out, the recipe is a little extra work since you have to beat an egg white.  For the record, one time, I accidentally separated my whites into the milk mixture, so I couldn’t beat it before adding it to the batter.  I didn’t feel that the waffle lost a significant amount of lightness, though the batter was a bit runny.  So if you are ever so anxious for waffles that you speed through the recipe too quickly and accidentally drop the egg whites into the milk, it will all work out – take it from me!

The smell of freshly cooking waffles is one of my favorite smells.  I feel like the vanilla really comes out and it’s as addictive as the smell of fresh baked cookies, with the added benefit that you get to eat one every three minutes hot off the iron.

The cold, hard (or hot, crispy??) truth is that I love these waffles so much, I will unashamedly eat them standing by the waffle iron.  Having no pressure to share with anyone, I pop them out of the waffle iron, immediately start cooking another one and dig into my hot, hot waffle.  I don’t even add any toppings or anything – I just pull them apart into their quarters and chomp away.  It’s the best feeling in the world.

I use a heaping 1/3 cup of batter per waffle and this makes more than 5 waffles … probably along the magnitude of 8, which I can actually eat all in one sitting.  Also, following Brian’s recommendations are key.  I found that using my own timer, using a quick blast of cooking spray and making sure it always stays on the lowest setting consistently produced amazing waffles.  My timing preference is 3.5 minutes, I like them a bit more crisp.

