I recently made the diet version of coconut shrimp:  unsweetened coconut rather than sweetened and then baked rather than fried.  I didn’t set out to do this on purpose … it just ended up that way.

Anyway, this post isn’t about the actual coconut shrimp, it’s about what I used the coconut shrimp as a vehicle for:  three new dipping sauces.  I’ve never made any of them before and the results were interesting, to say the least.  Are you ready to dip?  Let’s go!

Citrus Mustard Sauce:  I’ve always liked the dipping sauce for coconut shrimp from Bahama Breeze so I figured “Why not?”  I’m pretty sure this is also the first place I ever even ate coconut shrimp.  I cut the recipe in third, added a bit less horseradish and a bit more lemon.  Overall?  I think this was my and Martin’s favorite (or at least, he ate it the most).  And it did live up to its promise of being citrus-y and mustard-y.  However, I can’t remember if it’s actually like what you’d get in the restaurant.

Homemade Cocktail Sauce:  For some reason, hers looked more liquid-y than mine turned out, and this is even after I added a bit of water to thin it.  Overall, very tasty but not as yummy as my favorite cocktail sauce yet (brand unknown, all I know is, I found it at the Whole Foods in NC and it’s not at the Whole Foods in CA!).  I really want a big horseradish kick when I eat cocktail sauce and this didn’t deliver.  Note:  I didn’t add all the horseradish she called for, mainly because I added about 1/3 of a cup, started tasting and started worrying it might taste funny, so I stopped.  It did pack a nice sinus-clearing hit though!

Sweet Chili Mayo:  I also really liked this one but couldn’t get over how I was essentially eating straight up mayo.  I guess I did save some calories on the shrimp, though?!

Overall, I thought these were all delicious and took minimal amounts of effort, thanks to an immersion blender.  I would definitely like to try making coconut shrimp (with sweetened coconut!) again and I would make these sauces again to accompany them.

