In my last post, I alluded to the fact that I want to make all the ice creams in David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop.”  Well, I think I am off to a banging start – only two in the month of January but one a week since I started actively making ice cream.  But I just did something that I did not consider when I made the resolution, which is to count exactly how many ice cream recipes there are in this book.

74.

There are 74 ice cream recipes in this book.  This does not even include sorbets or frozen yogurts or any other delicious frozen-y things that he discusses.  I obviously either need to 1/ step up my game or 2/ revise my resolution.

I think you can see where this is headed.

So my new resolution is try to make one new flavor a week.  This might fail because, ultimately, I am an ice cream purist and like my flavors pretty simple (vanilla and chocolate FTW!) and I can’t imagine going a whole year without making vanilla or chocolate again.  I mean, for awhile, I dallied with crazy flavors that contained words like “crinkle” and “crunch” and “swirl.”  But they ultimately left me feeling empty inside and mad I wasted the calories on subpar ice cream.  Except for Ben and Jerry’s Oatmeal Cookie Crunch, that shit is the shit.  It is almost criminal how good that flavor is.

Of course, I realize as I ramble on about my undying devotion to chocolate and vanilla that I am pledging to make a lot of flavors that I will potentially not like.  And I am willing to accept that in the name of food-and-all-that-makes-you-happy-for-food. My intentions are noble, truly, and for the good of all my friends.

And if I happen to show up at a party or two with a weird sounding ice cream flavor … well, then you’ll know why.  🙂

So!

Sidetracked!

Onward and upward!  To the land of chocolate and vanilla ice cream!

Vanilla:  I made this one first.  Martin was disappointed I didn’t add any cookie dough into it, but I had to judge it untainted.  Remember, it was all in the name of food-and-all-that-makes-you-happy-for-food.  So this has to be very scientific.  😉  And the verdict is that it is extremely delicious.  It’s slightly different from the recipe that came with my KitchenAid ice cream attachment, it calls for fewer eggs and a smaller amount of milk.  I was starting to think that the KA recipe was tasting egg-y but I didn’t really notice that in this ice cream.

Chocolate:  This chocolate tasted just like Haagen-Daaz chocolate, which is my favorite version of chocolate out there.  I took a bite straight from the churner and I think my eyes made huge saucers as I took in how freaking delicious I thought this ice cream was.  Then I promptly shoved more into my mouth.  I will definitely be making this again.

One thing I will say is that in both batches, I had problems with the custard cooking on the bottom, even though I whisked the hell out of it each time.  The strainer catches any cooked bits so it’s okay, but it’s still frustrating that low heat and constant vigilance can’t protect me from that.  I also had this problem last year when I made ice cream.  The dream is to one day get to the point where I consistently don’t do that anymore!

So there you have it.  The ice cream round up!  Next on the list appears to be Aztec Hot Chocolate Ice Cream, which appears to be similar to chocolate, except there is some chili pepper and cinnamon to spice things up.

