Last week, I continued my one-a-week ice cream resolution with White Chocolate Ice Cream.  I know, I said I was going to make Aztec Hot Chocolate, but I didn’t read the ingredient list and went ahead and cracked 5 eggs.  I swear, I read the ingredient list about 5 times and during none of those times did I note to myself, “Hey!  There is no need for eggs!”  So I had to rassle up a different recipe I could make on short notice.

This recipe is similar to the chocolate ice cream, but substitutes dark chocolate for white chocolate.  It tasted overwhelmingly like vanilla.  And in case I was starting to doubt my own taste buds, I let some friends sample it without telling them what the flavor was and they all overwhelingly voted for “vanilla.” White chocolate was not even anywhere on their radar!  NOT ANYWHERE!

Overall, I thought it was good but not great.  I made sure to use Guittard white chocolate couverture so I don’t think it was because of the quality of the chocolate.  It tasted the slightest bit grainy to me.  And maybe because I had been so wowed by dark chocolate the week before, I thought it didn’t have the same richness.  But like all the flavors so far, there was a nice mouthfeel.  It was substantial and the texture was fluffy.

I think I could dial back the amount of milk fat (each batch calls for 2 cups heavy cream and 1 cup of whole milk) and still have a delicious tasting ice cream.  Something to consider for the future.  🙂

Anywhere, here’s a photo of the custard before churning.  Isn’t it crazy that it’s called White Chocolate Ice Cream but because of all the egg yolks, it ends up being a light yellow?  I took a picture of it before I added the heavy cream, so you can compare exactly how yellow it is compared to the white cream (since the yellow mixing bowl doesn’t really help).

