What’s this?  Talking about Thanksgiving stuffing in March?  Well, I never talked about it last November and it’s recently taken on a new level of meaning for me.  My hands-down favorite part about Thanksgiving has always been my Uncle Kit’s stuffing.

I’ve only recently started learning what an amazing life he’s led and what a generous spirit he has.  He trained in Switzerland as a pastry chef after going to college.  He’s a voracious reader on pretty much any topic you could imagine and he is fiercely loyal to NC State basketball.  Everyone says it so much, it’s probably become cliched, but he really would give you the shirt off his back if you needed it.  For so long, he was always just there, Uncle Kit, quiet and steady.

Because he’s so amazing, I know for the rest of my life, I will never host a Thanksgiving dinner that doesn’t have his stuffing on my table, even if I have to serve multiple stuffings.  And it doesn’t hurt that I think his stuffing is the bee’s knees.  🙂

When I asked him for the recipe to make it last Thanksgiving, it was given in terms of a man who had made it so many times, he no longer really followed any recipe.  I was a little scared of messing it up, so I did a search online for similar stuffing recipes and found this.  It’s pretty much the same, except my uncle’s is simpler.

This recipe, for example, calls for 3 eggs.  When my uncle described the mixing process, he definitely said, “add eggs one at a time until you reach the right consistency.”  What?  What!?!  So I’m glad this recipe was able to step in and guide me a little.

As a note, my uncle’s stuffing does not include extra sugar, apples, celery or the fresh herbs.  His favorite herb blend to use in flavoring the stuffing is Italian.  My uncle would also bake it separately from the turkey in round cake tins and I loved the contrast of textures.  The top would brown nicely and become crispy, while inside, the white bread had turned soft, almost creamy.

