If you read as many food blogs as I do, you can definitely see trends as they rise and fall.  A few months ago, it was rainbow cake.  Everyone and their mother had variations of this kind.  There’s the tie-dyed variety, the layer cake variety, cupcakes … just Google “rainbow cake” and you’ll find so many creative options.  When I first saw the trend, I even tweeted about wanting a 28-layer rainbow cake (and yes, I still do.  Maybe one day my dream will become a reality).

I was really intrigued when I saw these cakes making the rounds on the food blogosphere because I remember my 8th grade science teacher turning rainbow cakes into a geology lesson.  She mad tie-dyed styled cupcakes and we were “geologists” who used straws to excavate portions of the cupcake.  We then had to sketch out what we thought the cupcake looked like, before cutting it in half to verify and then finally applauding our hard work by eating said cupcake.

This was obviously a memorable lesson for me.  I suppose anything food related is, as I also remember one where we had to convert a recipe to metric measurements.  Then we had to make said recipe for a class eating frenzy.  Everyone brought in cakes and cookies, I brought in deviled eggs. This is just more proof that I have always had a deep and abiding love of these little suckers, in addition to the fact that I will make them at any occasion that can even hint at needing deviled eggs.  Easter?  Birthday?  Potluck?  Why, let’s make deviled eggs!

I knew I wanted my rainbow cake to be a layer cake because I wanted distinct colors and I wanted the outside to be frosted completely white, for that extra surprise when the first person cut into it.  The night before the party, I kept Leslie up way too late as we set about completing the cake.

We used a boxed mix rather than making a cake from scratch, partly because I never have any luck making light and fluffy cakes and partly because I wasn’t sure if this would even work.  We used up two boxes of mixes, split it into five equal portions and colored it using gel food coloring.  It must be gel because liquid food coloring will water down the batter and produce pastel shades rather than the really vivid tones I wanted.

After it was all baked, we slathered it with buttercream frosting that had an insane amount of butter.  On the table, it looked beautiful! The frosting was fluffy and white and looked so smooth thanks to Leslie’s amazing frosting skills.  Then we cut into it and it was everything I wanted it to be: bright, happy and just right for the birthday party of a girl who’s still silly at heart.

