Okay, I might be exaggerating a little bit.  It definitely was not epic and it probably wasn’t really legendary.  But I do like throwing those awe-inspiring adjectives around, to add a bit of excitement to an otherwise humdrum post.  I think next I’m going to try to throw in a splendiferous.  No reason, really, just thought I’d add some spice in there.

So above you can see one of each type of pie crust I made.  Due to filling, crimping, sizing, whatever-ing issues, these are pretty much my most (and only) acceptable looking tartlets.  The left one is a shortening crust and the right one is a butter crust.  I baked up one example of each and ate them for no one’s benefit but science.  That’s right, it was for the good of science, y’all.

And because apple pie is old fashioned and traditional and awesome, I shall start the battle with an old fashioned, traditional, awesome pro / con list.

Pro:  Butter is always better.  That’s why they share 83% of the same letters.

Con:  Except you had to add too much flour so it baked up tough.  Like crackers.

Pro:  I like crackers.

Con:  Not on your pie you don’t!

Pro:  True.  Damn.

Con:  And the shortening crust was much easier to cut through properly.

Pro:  But crumbled to pieces when you picked it up.  Or put it in the mold.  Or just looked at it, really.

Con:  At least it made properly sized pies since we didn’t have to wiggle the mold.

Pro:  But it tasted like “flaky.”

Con:  That last statement should be disqualified, how can anything taste like “flaky.”

Pro:  It tastes like “flaky” when it melts in your mouth like pie crust should but has essentially no flavor.

Con:  Maybe we should call this a draw.

Pro:  So be it.

The pie mold is currently retired in the back of one of my utensil drawers.  I’m sure I’ll attempt it again, but probably not anytime soon.  I mean, this was a lot of work … and I have no more apples.

