Last night, Martin and I had a jingle war.  I started regurgitating random jingles and he accused me of making them up because, in his opinion, no one would actually put jingles that sounded that bad on air.  So someone, quick, tell me a place where I can find these jingles in audio format so I can prove to him how wrong he is.  For some reason, my singing skills are not doing it for him – I honestly cannot imagine why.

Not that this will add to my credibility, but has anyone heard the Sexy Bitch song?  It is stuck in my head in a way you would not believe!  I walk around, saying, “Damn, who’s a sexy bitch?” like its my job.  And then last night, Martin corrected me and told me the line is actually, “Damn, you’s a sexy bitch.”

But I know I’m right about these jingles.  I am so sure I am right, I would bet you a big bowl of this awesome bolognese, which was one of the best pastas I’ve eaten in a long time.  I don’t know what it was, but I ate seconds (I rarely have the appetite for that) and I definitely did not mind eating these as leftovers.  The recipe came from a pasta book Michelle gave me, where I basically want to eat every pasta dish in the book.  I’m waiting for fall / winter to set in here before diving into more recipes because a lot of the dishes are heavier and not as summer-appropriate.

This dish is meaty and filling and substantial.  It’s perfect with a green salad and crusty garlic bread.  I almost didn’t spring for the fresh fettuccine because I have dry fettuccine in my pantry, but I am so glad I did.  It really made the dish.  The original recipe called for 2 packages, but I only bought one and I actually think I liked it better that way.  The photo that comes with the recipe (and that originally caught my eye!) looks fairly sparse in the sauce department and I like a high sauce to pasta ratio.  The sauce cooks down a lot, so it’s not very runny, it’s sort of like eating lasagna that you’ve mixed up.


Do you recognize the bread?  It’s rosemary focaccia, which I’d made the night before.  I threw them in the oven to warm them up slightly and forgot them … so they were very crisp.  Whoops.  🙂

Ragu Alla bolognese with Fettucine
from: Cooking Light: Pasta

1 cup finely chopped onion
1 cup finely chopped celery
1/2 cup finely chopped carrot
5 oz. ground veal
5 oz. ground pork
5 oz. ground round
1 cup dry white wine
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 bay leaf
1 3/4 cups chicken broth
1 (10 3/4 oz) can tomato puree
1 cup whole milk
2 tbsp. minced fresh flat-leaf parsley
1 pkg. fresh fettuccine
2 tbsp. grated fresh Parmesan

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add onion, celery and carrot.  Cook approx. 8 minutes, stirring occasionally.   Remove onion mixture from pan.

Add veal, pork and beef to pan and cook over medium heat until browned, stirring to crumble.  Add wine, salt, black pepper, nutmeg and bay leaf.  Bring to a boil.  Cook 5 minutes.

Add onion mixture back to the pan, along with chicken broth and tomato puree.  Mix to combine, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a slow simmer.  Cook 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Stir in milk and minced parsley.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 40 minutes.  Discard bay leaf.  Mixture should be thick, like chili.

Cook pasta according to directions.  Toss pasta with meat sauce and cheese.  Garnish with more parsley and cheese.

Servings:  8

