If there’s one thing you know about me, it’s that I love ice cream.  Actually, it’s probably the fact that my favorite color is yellow but a close runner up (or if you only knew two things about me), it’s that I love ice cream.  Seriously love it.  My one regret for our wedding reception was that I didn’t bring Goodberry’s (an amazing frozen custard chain with locations only in North Carolina)  in to cater dessert.  If I’d known … well, woulda coulda shoulda.

Currently, there are no less than three different ice cream flavors in my freezer.  One of them is Toasted Almond and Candied Cherry, which was one of the major reasons I wanted David Lebovitz’s Perfect Scoop.  I kept thinking I’d make it and a year later, finally got around to it.  And to do that, I had to make this:

Basically, you pit a whole bunch o’ cherries and then boil them in a sugar solution until a thick sauce had formed.  I got this from a recipe in the book and it makes enough for two portions of ice cream.  I quickly used half to make one batch of ice cream, then promptly (and foolishly) tucked the other one in my pantry.  I think we can all see where this is going.  When I went to get it the other day to use the syrup, it had a nice layer of mold on top.

I think I might have thought the sugar would keep the mold away.  I was wrong.

