I’m sitting here, a little bummed, because I tried to make saffron bread and after giving the dough about an hour to rise, it has not budged an inch, let alone doubled in size.  That’s what I get for trying to rush the dough-making process!  When will I learn?  I made some rolls for a potluck recently and I rushed then too and so the end result was not as soft and fluffy as I felt they should have been.

It’s been getting a little nippy here in California … and by nippy, I mean in the 60s.  Which is apparently only cold to me.  But I’m a wuss and when I’m cold, there’s nothing I like more than a warm bowl of soup and some hot sandwiches.  After mucking around in the rain, I came home and wanted tomato soup and grilled cheese but didn’t feel like making a trek out to the grocery store.  So I tried to see if I could make it just based on what I had in my apartment.

 

I was lucky and had some leftover fresh basil on hand from another recipe (so you don’t think I’m crazy and consider fresh basil a pantry staple).  🙂  I kept adding leaves until I could distinctly taste the basil and the tomato flavors.  Then I dropped in some butter and cream for richness.  Served with a very unhealthy grilled cheese sandwich, this totally hit the spot.

Tomato Basil Soup

1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes
1 (14 oz.) can tomato sauce
20 – 25 fresh basil leaves
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
4 tbsp. butter
Salt
Pepper

Combine diced tomatoes, tomato sauce and amount of water equivalent to amount of tomato sauce in a large saucepan.  Stir together to combine and simmer at least 1 hour.

Add fresh basil leaves and puree mixture with an immersion blender.  Simmer for another half hour or so.

Stir in heavy whipping cream, butter and plenty of salt and pepper to taste.

Servings:  8

