So there was Pie Showdown 2009 and the tradition continues with Pie Showdown 2010.  Don’t worry, only one post for this year’s, just a quick recounting of what was entered. This year’s categories were Sweet and Savory and, boy, did we have some great entries.  I think I never got around to taking pictures so these are courtesy of Mark (thanks, Mark!).

Savory Pies

(l-r)

Tommy:  You learn something new everyday.  This was a Pissaladière Niçoise and it had caramelized onions, black olives and anchovies.  I actually loved this pie, but I am already a huge fan of anchovies and caramelized onions, which I think helped.  I hate olives but they’re easy to pick around so this was a win in my book.  I can’t help but wonder what this would taste like warm – even better?  Is that possible?

Brian:  The Bojangles Pie.  It was Bojangles mashed potatoes, dirty rice, spicy chicken fillets and chopped biscuits topped with a layer of cheddar and a bacon / homemade pie crust lattice.  It sounds kind of crazy but it tasted pretty darn good.  All of the Bojangles food sort of glommed together into a spicy goodness with the consistency of stuffing (and my love of stuffing is well-documented).  Bottom line:  it wasn’t as horrifying as Brian made it out that it would be.  It was actually kind of awesome.

Sweet Pies

(l-r)

Melanie:  I made key lime pie.  I have already talked at length about this pie.  Just a few other notes:  a doubled filling fits nicely in a standard 9″ pie dish (no deep dish pie pan needed).  Also, zesting without a microplane is omg painful.

Chris and Michele:  Check out this beautifully decorated cherry pie.  It tasted just what you’d hoped cherry pie would taste like:  a bit tart, a bit sweet, all enclosed in a wonderfully flaky crust.  I normally don’t like fruit pies but I liked this one.  I can only imagine how it would have tasted slightly warm with vanilla ice cream – yum!

Penney:  One amazing pear pistachio tart.  I loved the visual contrast of the green pistachio to the wine-poached pears and they paired well on my taste buds too.  There was also a wine reduction sauce that was not used for this pie but Penney has told me is an absolute must.  This was Martin’s favorite by far.

Winners
Savory:  Pissaladière Niçoise
Sweet:  Key Lime Pie

I just wanted to say, I love our annual post-Christmas party (kindly hosted by Rachel and Mike for the third year running!) and I am glad that I have friends who want to participate in light-hearted competitions like this and friends who don’t mind being guinea pigs for our latest culinary (and sometimes crazy) ideas.  So blessed, I am!

