Over the holidays, my friend Lisa gifted me a big bag of this amazing Chex Mix.  After the first couple of bites, I was hooked.  Martin and I could not stop eating it and pretty soon, the entire bag was gone (to our extreme sadness).  I immediately emailed Lisa, asking for this wonderful recipe, and she nicely obliged.

Since Martin and I obviously cannot exercise restraint around this Chex Mix, I decided not to go crazy and wait to make it for the next party I went to.  I made a recipe and a half, filling a big bowl, thinking there would be no way everyone would eat all of it and I’d be left with some portion to eat all by myself the next day.  Well, this just goes to show how delicious Lisa’s Chex Mix is, because at the end of the night, there was absolutely none left. None!

Note:  This is not the big bowl.  This is actually a very tiny bowl, so you can see what the Chex Mix looked like.  And maybe so you could see what is probably a normal-sized portion.

I think there are a lot of reasons this Chex Mix is so appealing.  There is a nice subtle spicy burn that you detect after eating a few pieces.  Everything is a snack food in its own right so they’re all nicely bite-sized.  And (well, maybe this applies only to me) I like everything that goes into the mix, so I’m not left with a lonely pile of rye chips at the end of the night.  Not that there’s anything wrong with rye chips.

The only change I made to Lisa’s recipe was swapping out pretzel sticks for mini pretzels.  This is partly because I have a really irrational dislike of pretzel sticks (I just don’t like them, okay?) and partly because I thought mini pretzels matched the shape of the mix better.  Yes, I think about these things.  What can I say?  I’m weird like that.

So here’s the recipe (thank you again, Lisa, for sharing it!).  It is so easy that in making it once, I can type it from memory already.  So, go ahead, get your snack on!  You’ll be glad you did!

Lisa’s Chex Mix

2 cups Cheez-Its
2 cups pretzels (sticks / minis)
2 cups  Bugles
1 cup unsweetened shredded wheat
1 cup corn Chex
1 cup pecans
1 stick butter
1 tbsp. maple syrup
1/2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
3/4 tsp. Cajun seasoning
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 250-degrees F.

Combine the first six ingredients (Cheez-Its, pretzels, Bugles, shredded wheat, corn Chex and pecans) in a large bowl.

Combine the next five ingredients (butter, maple syrup, Worcestershire sauce, Cajun seasoning and cayenne pepper) in a small saucepan.  Melt butter and mix everything until well combined.

Drizzle over dry mixture, then toss to coat.  Spread out on an ungreased baking pan and bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

Yield:  A lot!  But maybe not enough for a party of 8.  Okay, about 7.5 cups.

