For 2011, my friend Kyle made the resolution to try 365 new recipes in 365 days.  She even made a Facebook group about it so that community members can track their progress and share recipes.  If this is something that interests you, you should definitely join!  It’s been really fun to write about my progress and read about everyone else’s, even though I am so seriously behind right now.

My first new recipe of the new year was Gourmet’s Butternut Squash Soup.  It was a cold, rainy, drizzly day – something warm and comforting seemed just what the doctor ordered.

Possibly unluckily for Martin, this was all I made for dinner.  I enjoyed two big bowl of it and was full, but I think Martin might have wanted something with a bit more filling power (re: protein).  I had cut out the bacon because we’re trying to cut back our consumption, so it was a strictly vegetarian soup.

I pureed all of the soup with an immersion blender (which I still haven’t gotten the hang of using).  The only other change I made was using sage rather than thyme and adding about 1/4 cup of cream for a little bit of extra richness.  I also cooked it down for awhile, because I like thick, stick-to-your-ribs soup.

I really enjoyed this soup topped with a handful of bread crumbs.  The texture was a bit on the grainy side (probably because I can’t figure out my immersion blender – or that is what I’ll tell myself!) but otherwise, very delicious.  I would definitely make this again.

