So really, this is Serious Eats’ Cracker-Crusted Fish, but Serious Eats didn’t make this delicious meal for me over the holiday break or host me and Martin at a fun dinner so forever more, I dub this “Jordo’s Cracker-Crusted Fish.” To be completely accurate, it should say Ashley, as she did the majority of the cooking, but I have literally been waiting on pins and needles for a chance to throw the nickname Jordo around and this might be his only chance!

When Jordan and Ashley made this dish for us, they used ahi tuna and it was amaaaaazing. Seriously, it blew my mind and as I was eating it, I kept wishing I had a bigger stomach so I could eat more. Martin is a fan of yellowtail, however, so I thought I would try that instead and I think the results were just as tasty (in a different, non ahi tuna way).

The nice crunch from the crackers and the tender fish is rounded out with a creamy dipping sauce. The sauce is a bit tangy from the citrus and has a little kick from the Sriracha. I used olive oil because I grabbed it by accident and the olive oil flavor does come through, but I didn’t mind too much. I do think that the canola oil would have made the citrus flavors a bit brighter.


Cracker Crusted Yellowtail
Adapted from the Serious Eats recipe

1 egg yolk
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. lime juice
1 tbsp. tangerine juice
2 tsp. Sriracha
1/2 cup oil
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions
3 egg whites
2 tbsp. cornstarch
3/4 cup finely crushed flatbread cracker crumbs
10 oz. sashimi-grade yellowtail

1- Combine egg yolk, salt, lime juice, tangerine juice and Sriracha in food processor or with immersion blender. Slowly drizzle in oil until well blended. Mix in green onions.

2- Whisk egg whites until foamy. Add cornstarch in small increments, whisking between, until egg whites are foamy.

3- Cut yellowtail filet into 2 relatively-square-ish portions. Dip fish into egg whites, then coat with cracker crumbs.

4- Heat a thick layer of oil (about 1/4″) in the bottom of a high-sided skillet over medium high heat. Cook fish on skillet for approximately 30 seconds on each side or until crust is dark brown.

5- Serve sliced.

Servings
: 2

